Skip links
More Information
Ziehen
Advanced materials engineering

Technology

THE PVD TECHNOLOGY

The abbreviation PVD stands for Physical Vapor Deposition, in which the surfaces of predominantly metallic or ceramic substrates are coated with extremely thin layers in environmentally friendly vacuum processes.

This is achieved by the two different coating processes sputtering or arc evaporation, which have in common

that different materials are deposited in the gaseous state on the substrate surface.

Since the process temperatures on which these processes are based are very low and may even occur at room temperature, a structural change of steels can be ruled out.

Goals of the PVD Coating

The ultimate goal of PVD coatings, which today are among the leading technologies in terms of wear protection, friction, erosion and corrosion reduction, life extension and surface hardness improvement, is to improve the productivity, performance and quality of business production in a variety of different areas.

PVD coatings are very environmentally friendly thanks to a variety of different aspects like using only a few resources during the process and producing only small amounts of waste materials and exhaust gases. In addition, the durability and service life of the tools are significantly improved, thus protecting the environment.

Why PVD Coating Systems from KCS Europe?

Increase in productivity

Increased durability

Cost reduction

Protection of the environment

ARC

The Arc is local discharge, leading to point temperatures of about 15,000°C, evaporating the target material into the gas phase. As the gas phase exhibits neutral and ionic species it can also be considered as a plasma. Additionally, introduced reactive gas like O2 or N2allow synthesis of compound films such as typical hard coatings Al2O3 or TiN. Target species are now transported through this plasma phase and condense on a surface, typically the tool or sample, creating a thin film. While applying a potential on the sample, the so-called bias potential, ionized species in the plasma can be additionally attracted and the energetics of the incoming species can be tuned. This tuned energetics of the incoming species can be used to adjust thin film and ultimately tool/sample properties. Properties which can be adjusted in this manner are thin film structure, hardness, adhesion, stress, density, and many more.

Different power supplies enable a large variety of metallic, ceramic and compound material systems including conducting to insulating materials. The additional possibility to adjust the energetics in the process enable significantly lower process temperature compared to standard CVD (chemical vapor deposition) processes.

Skip links
Mehr entdecken
Ziehen
Advanced materials engineering

Technologie

DIE PVD-TECHNOLOGIE

Die Abkürzung PVD steht für physikalische Gasphasenabscheidung (Physical Vapor Deposition), bei welcher die Oberflächen vorwiegend metallischer oder keramischer Substrate in umweltschonenden Vakuumprozessen mit extrem dünnen Schichten überzogen werden.

Dies gelingt durch die zwei unterschiedlichen Beschichtungsverfahren Sputtern oder Arc-Verdampfen, welchen gemeinsam ist,

dass unterschiedliche Materialien im gasförmigen Zustand auf der Oberfläche der Substrate abgeschieden werden.

Da die diesen Verfahren zugrundeliegenden Prozesstemperaturen sehr niedrig sind und ggf. sogar bei Raumtemperatur ablaufen, kann eine strukturelle Veränderung von Stählen ausgeschlossen werden.

Ziele der PVD-Beschichtung

Das Ziel der PVD-Beschichtungen, welche heutzutage zu den führenden Technologien hinsichtlich Verschleißschutz, Reibungs- sowie Erosions- und Korrosionsminderung, Verlängerung der Lebensdauer und Verbesserung der Oberflächenhärte gehören, besteht letztendlich in der Verbesserung der Produktivität, Leistungsfähigkeit und Qualität der unternehmerischen Produktion in einer Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Bereiche.

PVD-Beschichtungen sind dank einer Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Aspekte sehr umweltfreundlich. So werden während des Prozesses nur wenige Ressourcen genutzt und es entstehen nur geringe Mengen an Abfallstoffen und Abgasen. Darüber hinaus werden die Haltbarkeit und Lebensdauer der Werkzeuge deutlich verbessert und die Umwelt so geschont.

Warum PVD-Beschichtungsanlagen von KCS Europe?

Erhöhung der Produktivität

Erhöhung der Lebensdauer

Verringerung der Kosten

Schutz der Umwelt

ARC

Hierbei ist der Arc eine lokale Entladung, bei welcher Punkttemperaturen von bis zu 15.000°C auftreten, welche das Targetmaterial verdampfen. Die so entstandene Gasphase besteht aus ionisierten und neutralen Teilchen und wird entsprechend als Plasma bezeichnet. Zusätzlich können reaktive Gase wie O2 oder N2, welche die Synthese von Mischphasen wie Al2O3 oder TiN ermöglichen, dem Prozess beigefügt werden. Das verdampfte Targetmaterial wird durch diese Plasmaphase transportiert und kann auf der Probenoberfläche kondensieren, wobei eine Dünnschicht gebildet wird. Durch das Anlegen eines elektrischen Potentials an der Probe, dem so genannten Bias-Potential, können die ionisierten Spezies zusätzlich beschleunigt und deren Energetik eingestellt werden. Dadurch können die Eigenschaften der Dünnschicht und letztendlich des Werkzeuges gezielt optimiert werden. Zu diesen Eigenschaften gehören Dünnschicht-Struktur, Härte, Spannungen, Dichte und viele weitere.

Die Verwendung verschiedener Leistungsversorgungen ermöglicht die Synthese von verschiedensten metallischen und keramischen Schichten sowie Verbundwerkstoffen einschließlich leitender und isolierender Materialien. Zusätzlich ermöglicht die direkte Beeinflussung der Teilchenenergetik signifikant geringere Prozesstemperaturen im Vergleich zu Standard-CVD (Chemische Gasphasenabscheidung)-Prozessen.